Olive Through the Ages

Timeline of events in Olive: 1892-1957

8000 BC-800 AD  |  1769-1869  |  1871-1891  |  1892-1957  |  1958-Present
_____________________________________________________________________________

1892 March 27: By this time, four passenger trains stop each day in Olive, and the town has "several stores, postoffice, blacksmith shops, express office," schools, a hotel, and a church. "Besides the mill and warehouse of the Olive Milling Company, Small & Hildreth have a general merchandise store, livery and warehouse and D.J. Watson a grocery store. The Olive Hotel is run by F. Cowlin."65

April 14: The S.A.V.I. canal/tunnel is completed, the largest concrete pipe to carry water from the Santa Ana River. The pipe is constructed due to breaks in the original wooden tunnel.18 The conduit is reported by the Los Angeles Times as being five feet deep, 11 feet across at the bottom, 26 feet across at the top, 724 feet in length, and six feet, nine inches in diameter in the open space across the cylindrical section of the tunnel.65

Louis Schorn plants an olive grove on his property in Olive Heights.18
   
1893 Olive Grammar School is moved to Olive Point by the Olive Milling, Land & Improvement Company, due to the threat of the development of the town of Saint James in the vicinity of the school.16 However, the town is never developed and goes bust shortly after 1898.
   
1895 The relocated Olive Grammar School building is completed as a wooden, white, two-story building on the hill at Olive.16

Circa this time, the parcel of land across from Olive Grammar School, to the west of the railroad tracks, is sold by Desiderio Burruel's heirs and developed as an orange orchard tract by L.J. Sykes.9

Milliken's Orange County Directory lists a First Presbyterian Church, Reverend A. Parker, pastor.67
   
1897 December 4: News is reported about the Presbyterians of Olive grading the site on which their new church will be built.65
   
1898 February 27: First services are held at the new Presbyterian Church at Olive at 3:30 p.m. by Reverend A. Parker, DD of Orange and Reverend Stone of Anaheim.65

November 6: The new Presbyterian Church at Olive is dedicated that afternoon, the ceremony conducted by Reverends Parker and Stone.65
   
1899

Orange County Directory of 1899-1900 lists a Presbyterian Church, Reverend A.A. Parker, pastor.61 The Presbyterian Association would sell the sanctuary to St. Paul's in April 1907.59

From at least this year until early 1923, the Watson general store is located at the northeastern corner of Hope and Railroad Street.65

   
1901 On the U.S. Geological Survey map, the following streets near Olive (known today by the names given here) are identified running north and south: North Glassell Street, Shaffer Street, Canal Street, Tustin Street, and Santiago Boulevard; and running east and west: Heim Avenue, Meats Avenue, and Taft Avenue.45
   
1903 German emigrant Henry C. Meyers, his wife, and son relocate from their ranch in the Batavia area of Orange to the Olive Ranch area. Joseph Watson sells Meyers the parcel of land south of L.J. Sykes' orchard tract. Meyers plants oranges here.9
   
1904 February 15: Most of the original St. James tract land of 1887 is now owned by James R. Fletcher. (Source: Orange County Archives)
   
1906 Louis Schorn sells his interest in the Olive Milling Company. Schorn is succeeded as president of the Company by D.C. (Dewitt Clinton) Pixley of Orange.18

Rudy Heman is born in Olive. Heman, son of an Olive blacksmith— whose shop stood at the intersection of Orange-Olive Road and North Glassell Street—would become a legendary fast-pitch softball pitcher for the Olive team in the 1930s, and manager of the Olive Heights Citrus Association towards the end of his 40 years of employment with the organization.35

Southern California Railroad becomes known as the Santa Fe Railway, owned and operated by A.T. & S.F. Railway.46 In 1995, Burlington Northern Incorporated and the Santa Fe Pacific Corporation would merge to become Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railway (BNSF).43
   
1907 April 7: St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church is founded in Olive.59 The congregation's first church was the sanctuary constructed by the Presbyterian Association.61 This structure would be replaced by a new sanctuary, completed in 1913. The church and its grammar school—St. Paul's Lutheran Parochial School—are both listed in a 1919 residence and business city directory.23 In 1922, St. Paul's constructed a separate building for their school. Both the 1913 church and 1922 school buildings still exist today, used by the North Orange Christian Church at 1001 E. Lincoln Avenue in Orange. In 1958, St. Paul's Lutheran School would relocate to its present site—at what today is 1250 E. Heim Avenue, at the southwestern corner of Heim and Canal Street. The Church would relocate in 1963 to the immediate east of the school.59

The Orange Directory lists Olive Heights Nurseries, 4 mi N., Olive (Maurice Payan proprietor).68
   
1911 The business and resident directory lists the following information for Olive: Olive Heights Nursery, M.D. Payan proprietor, resident 1/2 mile east of store; Olive Milling Co., D.C. Pixley president, R.J. Bleen vice president, F.A. Blake secretary, Bank of Orange treasurer, wholesale grain and mill products, 1/2 mile east of store; Olive School.62

Growers Fruit Company—an independent packing house—is built at the northeastern corner of Main and Olive Avenue.65 (Additional Source: Tom Pulley)
   
1913 The Olive Road District map lists Libby J. Meats as the owner of the parcel of land across from Olive Grammar School, to the west of the railroad tracks.9 The 1913-14 business and resident directory lists the following businesses in Olive: Olive Public School, H.R. Wilson, principal; Olive Post Office, A.M. Lorenzen, postmaster; Olive Hotel, W.A. Campbell, proprietor.62
   
1914 September: Olive Hillside Groves is founded. Its packing house is located on the east side of Railroad Street, north of Hope Street.7

November 19: Olive Heights Citrus Association organizes and incorporates as a Sunkist packing house.7 Circa this time, Henry C. Meyers becomes one of the original members of the Olive Heights Citrus Association Board of Directors.9
   
1915 The Olive Garage is established on the southwestern corner of Hope and Railroad Street.23 The structure still stands today at 606 E. Lincoln Avenue in Orange, occupied by C.C.c.c. Heating & Air Conditioning since around October 1983.24 The Olive Garage business would completely relocate to 2845 Orange-Olive Road in 1984, where it continues to operate today.54

The Olive Heights Citrus Association packing house is built beside the Olive Hillside Groves packing house on Railroad Street.9
   
1916

First National Bank of Olive organizes in spring, with business commencing in temporary headquarters on August 24.71 The bank moves on October 16 to the building erected by Henry C. Meyers on the northwestern corner of Hope at Railroad Street.72

July: The residence and business directory lists the following information for Olive: Olive Garage, E.L. Cossairt, proprietor; Olive Heights Citrus Association, E.D. White, secretary; Olive Hillside Groves Packing House, J.D. Spennetta, secretary; Olive Hotel, W.A. Campbell, proprietor; Olive Ice Cream Parlor, M.H. Kelly; Olive Mercantile Co., general merchandise; Olive Milling Co., F.A. Blake, secretary; Olive Pool Room and Barber Shop, H.D.F. Heitshusen, proprietor; Olive Post Office, A.M. Lorenzen, postmaster.63

   
1917 January: The first and last edition of The Olive Enterprise newspaper is published.44
   
1919 Olive Grammar School is rebuilt in the new Mission style of architecture.16

The residence and business city directory lists the following information for Olive: St. Paul's Lutheran Parochial School (A.W. Schmid, principal), St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church (Reverend W.A. Theiss, pastor), Olive Blacksmith Shop (G.F. Harmon, proprietor, south side of Hope at 3 east Orange-Olive Boulevard), Olive Garage (Otto H. Buer, proprietor, Hope, corner Orange-Olive Boulevard, 3-1/2 miles north Olive), Olive Heights Citrus Association (Ben H. Cole, manager, east side of Santa Ana Canyon Boulevard at 2 north Hope), Olive Hillside Groves Inc. (F.B. Maxwell, manager, east side of Santa Ana Canyon Boulevard at 3 north Hope), Olive Milling Co. (F.A. Blake, manager, north side of Santiago Boulevard at the corner of Ocean View Avenue), Olive Post Office (A.M. Lorenzen, postmaster, south side of Hope at 4 east Olive Boulevard), Olive Rooming House (William A. Campbell, proprietor, north side of Hope at 1 west Cambridge, 3-1/2 miles north Olive), Santa Fe Railway Station (Mrs. Effie B. McCoy, agent, 3-1/2 miles north Olive), First National Bank of Olive.23

October 17: Olive Milling Company sells the flour mill to Central Milling Company of Los Angeles.18
   
1921 Thomas H. Peppers and his partner A.J. Miller purchase Growers Fruit Company and name their firm Peppers Fruit Company. (Source: Tom Pulley)
   
1922

April 12: Louis Schorn dies in Alhambra.18

H(arvey) Garber Brick Yards opens at the northwestern corner of Hope Street and Tustin Avenue.41

The City Directory lists Clement Lumber Co. (W.E. Clement) but does not include the business address.48

April 27: Orange Post newspaper's "Greater Olive Expansion Edition" includes advertisements from the following businesses in the Olive district: Olive Realty Company (Meyers Building, opposite First National Bank, H.L. Stinchfield, Manager), Olive Service Station (Riverside and Olive Blvds., Chas H. Squires), First National Bank of Olive (organized in 1916), Peppers Fruit Co. (night phone W.J. Kadau, V.H. Fross), Central Milling Company (JNO. M. Gardiner, President, John W. Ahoff, Vice President, A.B. Walbridge, Secretary), H. Garber Brick Yards (Santiago Blvd., Harvey Garber), Olive Cigar Store / Billiard Parlor / Barber Shop (A.J. Lee & Son), Olive Heights Citrus Association, Olive Cash Market (Anaheim Blvd., opposite First National Bank, Theo H. Mieger, Properietor), Olive Mercantile Co. (Anaheim Blvd., opposite First National Bank, J. Hecke, Proprietor), The Olive Store (D.E. Trefry & L.O. Holman, Proprietors), Olive Restaurant and Confectionery (J. O'Grady & Harry Sullivan), Olive Garage (Olive Blvd., C.F. Bliss, Proprietor), Olive Hillside Groves, Inc. (W.A. Greenleaf, President, C.O. Heim, Vice President, F.B. Maxwell, Secretary and Manager, Directors W.A. Greenleaf, C.O. Heim, J.B. Bush, August Lemke and R.H. Paulus). (Source: Phil Brigandi)

   
1923

June: A single-story brick structure is completed at the northeast corner of Canyon Way (Railroad Street) and Hope. This building houses the U.S. Post Office, Olive Mercantile Company general store, Olive Cafe restaurant, Olive Pharmacy and drugstore, and Olive Bakery.59

Peppers Fruit Company is renamed Olive Fruit Company. (Source: Tom Pulley) In March 1926, the Company would add a second packing house at 805 E. Center in Anaheim.41

   
1924

The Orange County Directory lists the following information for Olive: Clement Lumber Co. (W.E. Clement) T.A. Bennett, manager, Canyon Way—which would become the present-day Orange-Olive Road; Olive Bakery (F.S. Beecher) Hope St.; Olive Cafe (Mrs. Ella Colgrove) Canyon Way; Olive Fruit Co., W.J. Kadan, manager, P.O. Box 187; Olive Garage (E.P. Ehlen); Olive Hardware Co. (Schlueter Bros.) Canyon Way; Olive Heights Citrus Assn., Ben H. Cole, secretary-manager, Canyon Way; Olive Heights Sanitarium (Mrs. A.G. Heitshusen) Palm Avenue; Olive Hillside Groves, Inc., F.B. Maxwell, manager, Canyon Way; Olive Mercantile Co., D.C. Feemster, manager; Olive Pharmacy (G.B. Stewart) Canyon Way corner Hope; Olive Post Office, L.G. Holman, postmaster, Canyon Way; Olive Realty Co. (H.L. Stinchfield) Anaheim Road; Olive Realty Exchange (Adolf Ehman, A.A. Ehman, A.R. Robbins) Canyon Way; Olive Store (L.G. Holman) grocers and post office, Canyon Way; Standard Oil Co., Anaheim Road corner Canyon Way.41

July 22: Central Milling Company is put up for sale.65 Soon after, Harvey Garber begins operating Padre Tile Company out of the buildings on this site. (Source: Phil Brigandi)

   
1925

The Olive Improvement Association—in coop with the city of Placentia—subsidizes the Olive Chronicle newspaper, which runs for six months.44

The Orange County Directory lists the following information for Olive: Clement Lumber Company (W.E. Clement, owner, T.A. Bennett, manager, Canyon Way), Olive Bakery (listed at Hope and Canyon Way in the 1929 Directory, and at Santiago Boulevard in its last entry in the 1934 Directory), Olive Cafe (listed at 3 Canyon Way in the 1927 Directory—its last entry at this address would appear in the 1934 Directory), Olive Cash Market (Theo H. Mieger—this is its first and last entry in the annual Directory), Olive Fruit Company (A.J. Miller, manager—the 1927 Directory lists the branch location on Main Street at the corner of Olive Avenue and the main office in Anaheim), Olive Garage (E.P. Ehlen), Olive Hardware Company (W.C. Schlueter, Canyon Way—this is its last entry in the annual Directory), Olive Heights Citrus Association (Ben H. Cole, manager), Olive Hillside Groves, Incorporated (F.B. Maxwell, manager), Olive Mercantile Company (D.C. Feemster, manager, grocers—listed at Anaheim-Olive Boulevard in the 1927 Directory and at 5 Canyon Way in its last entry, the 1933 Directory), Olive Pharmacy (G.B. Stewart, Canyon Way, at the corner of Hope), Olive Post Office (L.G. [Leonard George] Holman, postmaster), Olive Store (L.G. Holman, grocer).41

Harvey Garber loses H. Garber Brick Yards to Attorney Arthur E. Koepsel. The name of the business is subsequently changed to Mission Clay Products Company. Garber also loses Padre Tile Company to Koepsel.44 Proprietors are listed as Koepsel and Sidney Aronson.25

   
1926 Henry C. Meyers dies.9

Circa this time, Olive is known as the Gateway City because of its location between Riverside and cities along the Pacific Coast.3
   
1927 May 21: Bill Holman is born Willis Leonard Holman in Olive, son of Leonard George Holman, the community's postmaster and grocer. Bill would become an internationally renowned jazz arranger, composer, and tenor saxophonist, with a career beginning in the 1940s and continuing today.26

The Orange County Directory lists the following "new" information for Olive: Olive Heights Sanitarium, Incorporated (John Heitshusen, president, 108 Palm), Olive Hotel (J.M. Harden, Main Street—this is the same location and possibly the same structure as the Olive Heights Hotel from 1887), The Olive Pharmacy (Lee C. McClelland, proprietor, Canyon Way—location is in the brick building), Olive School (4 miles north of Orange, Olive), Padre Tile Company (A.E. Koepsel, president, B.T. Beale, secretary-treasurer, east Hope—the 1929 edition of the Directory contains the Company's last entry.41 However, by analyzing aerial maps, most of the buildings that housed the Padre Tile Company would remain until at least 1959.)38 During the 1930s the buildings were used by Citrus Products, Inc. for their juice plant. (Source: Tom Pulley)

December 16:9 Fire destroys both the Olive Hillside Groves and Olive Heights Citrus Association packing houses.7
   
1928 Olive Hillside Groves packing house is rebuilt at the same site7 at 109 Canyon Way (Orange-Olive Road today).40

Olive Heights Citrus Association purchases the parcel from Meyers' estate and rebuilds the packing house of concrete on the west side of the railroad tracks9 at 104 Canyon Way.40

The Orange County Directory lists the following "new" information: Mission Clay Products Company (H.A. Shugart, manager, corner of Santiago at Tustin).41
   
1929 Santa Fe Railway rebuilds its train station to the immediate north of the previous depot—situated to the east of the railroad tracks, across the Olive Heights Citrus Association packing house at 102 Canyon Way (Orange-Olive Road).40 The 15 feet by 55 feet, single-story, white stucco depot with red tile roof is constructed in the Spanish Colonial Revival style.39

The Orange County Directory lists the following "new" information for Olive: First National Bank of Olive (H.T. Moennick, president, A.M. Lorenzen and K.V. Wolff, vice presidents, Dorothy L. Dresser, cashier,41 3 Anaheim-Olive Boulevard),40 Olive Billiard Parlor (C.W. Hammond, I.J. Lee, Hope Street), Olive Department Store (Peter B. McCarty, 7 Canyon Way), Olive Meat Market (T.H. Mieger, Anaheim-Olive Boulevard), Olive Post Office (Myrtle Stinchfield, postmistress).41

According to the Sanborn map, the Olive Grammar School is located at 209 Olive Avenue, the German Lutheran School is located at 108 Magnolia Avenue, and St. Paul's German Lutheran Church is located at 105 Magnolia Avenue. One gas station is located on the northeastern corner of Hope at 2 Canyon Way (Railroad Street), and another is located on the southwestern corner of Main at 13 Canyon Way. On the southern side of Hope to the east of Canyon Way stands a pool room and cigar shop (2 Hope), a barber shop (4 Hope), a restaurant (6 Hope), a blacksmith shop (8 Hope), and another pool room (12 Hope). Anaheim-Olive Boulevard continues to the west of Hope Street, just past the railroad tracks. The fire station stands at the southeastern corner of Buena Vista at 111 Olive Avenue, and a dance hall stands on the northwestern corner of Palm Street at 315 Main.40

The Olive Hotel, located at 302 Main on the southeastern corner of Orange Avenue,40 would remain in operation until at least 1934.41 The structure appears at this location in 1955 and 1959 aerial maps, but does not show up in a 1970 aerial map.38 Circa the mid-1980s, a two-story stucco office building would be constructed in the approximate area of the hotel. This structure still stands today at 1107 E. Lincoln Avenue.
   
1930 The Orange County Directory lists the following "new" information for Olive: Olive Bakery (B.E. Parsons), Olive Billiard Parlor (A.J. Lee) Hope St., Olive Cafe (Edith Palmgreen, Clara McIntyre), Olive Department Store (Thomas Broderick, Robert Cole), Olive Garage (L.E. Healton) Anaheim Road, Olive Hotel (H.H. Kessler) Main St., Olive Post Office (Mrs. Myrtle V. Tackett, postmistress).41

Operations cease at the Olive Fruit Company plant in Olive. (Source: Tom Pulley)

Padre Tile Company closes. (Source: Phil Brigandi)
   
1932 Spring: The Olive flour mill is dismantled.18 However, the buildings most recently used on this site by the Padre Tile Company remain.

Fire burns Olive Fruit Company packing house7 at 101 Main,40 which would not be rebuilt.7 In the Orange County Directory, the last entry for the Company appears in the 1934 edition.41

The Orange County Directory lists the following "new" information for Olive: Olive Department Store (M.Y. Kennedy, Marian A. Cole), Olive Garage (J.M. and Alfred Trapp), Olive Lumber Co. (G.E. Mount, manager) Canyon Way, Olive Post Office (Marian A. Cole, postmistress).41
   
1933

February 10: Russ Heman is born Russell Frederick Heman in Olive. Son of softball pitcher Rudy August Heman, Russ would be signed by the Chicago White Sox as an amateur free agent in 1952. Heman would debut as a major league pitcher with the Cleveland Indians on April 20, 1961, and would later pitch for the California Angels (known today as the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim). His final game would be on June 18, 1961.27

The First National Bank of Olive closes due to the "Stock Market Crash of 1929." In later years, Henry C. Meyers' family would reside upstairs in this building.9

The Orange County Directory lists the first entry for Olive Service Station (Canyon Way—its last entry would be in the 1939 Directory).41

   
1935 October: Construction is underway on a single-story adobe home for rancher Ben Gelker. The house still stands today at 16741 Buena Vista, on the northeastern corner of Buena Vista and Ocean View.44
   
1936 Citrus Products, Inc. plant, known for their "Plus" Brand Canned Citrus Juices, begins operating from this year until 1939 in the former Padre Tile Company buildings at the corner of Santiago Blvd. and Ocean View, P.O. Box 187, H.W. Abts, President. (Source: Tom Pulley)
   
1937 October 26: Construction begins on the Olive Civic Center,28 also known as the Olive Community Center and Assembly Hall, and the Olive Grammar School's Gymnasium and Auditorium. This structure is built in the Spanish Colonial Revival style.29

The Orange County Directory lists the following "new" information for Olive: Olive Food Market (Canyon Way41—this business is located in the brick building at the corner of Hope where it remains until at least the late 1950s),49 Olive Court (Henry Phillips, Canyon Way, P.O. Box 176—this is its first and last entry), Olive Parochial School (P.O. Box 5—the 1940 Directory lists Adolph Schmid as principal, the same name that appears for the school in the 1919 directory).41
   
1938 Early in the year, just before spring, Orange County is hit by heavy rainfall, causing the Santa Ana River to overflow, flooding Olive and other areas of the county.59
   
1939 May 21: Olive Civic Center is dedicated in Olive.28 This building still stands today at 3030 N. Magnolia Avenue in Orange, on the grounds of the Olive Grammar School.
   
1940 The Orange County Directory lists Olive Motel (Henry Phillips, Canyon Way, P.O. Box 176) in its first entry, and the Clement Lumber Company in its last entry.41
   
1945 Lawrence Kokx builds a vegetable and fruit packing house beside Olive Hillside Groves at 8672 Santa Ana Canyon Road. (Source: Tom Pulley)

The South Orange County Directory lists Theo. H. Mieger as postmaster at the Olive Post Office on Canyon Way, and G.T. and D.V. Coffman as personnel operating the Service Station on Canyon Way.48
   
1947 The Orange County Directory lists new street addresses for companies, due to the redesignation of street numbers: Mission Clay Products Company (N.A. Ceniglis, owner, 16961 Santiago), Olive Heights Citrus Association (Albert E. Hughes, manager, 16381 Main), Olive Hillside Groves, Incorporated (B.F. Guard, manager, 8642 Santa Ana Canyon Road), Olive Motel (J.C. Green, 8582 Santa Ana Canyon Road), Olive Post Office (Ella A. Dominguez, postmaster—Ella would remain with the Olive post office until at least the mid- 1960s—8700 block, Santa Ana Canyon Road).48
   
1948

Fire Station #20 (Olive Volunteer Fire Dept.)—the new adobe firehouse—is constructed of adobe bricks on Orange-Olive Road, near the northwestern corner of Anaheim-Olive Boulevard.30 Prior to this time—according to Margaret Hughes' hand drawn map dated in the 1940s—there is a library to the south of the auditorium at the Civic Center, and a bus garage at the northwestern corner of Buena Vista and Orange Avenue. On the southeastern side of Santiago (Lincoln Avenue) at Orange-Olive Road, the map shows a cafe, a blacksmith shop (perhaps G.F. Harmon's shop listed in the 1919 directory), and a pool hall—the same structures included in the 1926 Sanborn map. To the immediate west of the Olive Garage—at the southwestern corner of Anaheim-Olive and Orange-Olive Road—is a grocery store, perhaps the same one at 6 Anaheim-Olive Boulevard on the 1926 Sanborn map.9

The 1948-49 Jay Gee Business Directory for Orange, Olive, El Modena and Villa Park lists the following businesses in Olive: Olive Beauty Salon (corner Main and Ocean View, Orange, 581-J), Nichols Cafe, Huge's Grant Welding Shop (P.O. Box 23).

   
1950 The Directory Service Company's June Northern Orange County California City Directory lists the following information: Olive Barber Shop (Joseph Hardy, 16432 Santiago Boulevard), Olive Beauty Salon (Mrs. Kath S. Quick, 16732 Main), Olive Cafe (Everett W. Mulder, 16372 Anaheim-Olive Boulevard), Olive Elementary School (Paul G. Jungkeit, principal, Bixby Avenue, southeast corner, Olive Avenue), Olive Food Market (Walter E. O'Brien, 8702 Santa Ana Canyon Road), Olive Garage (A.W. Ames, auto repair, 16374 Anaheim-Olive Boulevard—listed at 16482 Anaheim-Olive Boulevard in Pacific Telephone's November 1962 Directory), The Olive Pharmacy (Lee C. McClelland, 8722 Santa Ana Canyon Road), Olive Pool Hall (Joseph Csordas and Lee McClelland, 16432 Santiago—the same address as the Olive Barber Shop).50
   
1953 Olive Grammar School becomes a part of the Orange Unified School District,16 and is officially named Olive Elementary School.31

On the Thomas Brothers map, the following streets near Olive that exist today are identified running north and south: North Glassell Street, Shaffer Street, Canal Street, Tustin Street, and Santiago Boulevard (east of Tustin Street); and running east and west: Anaheim Boulevard (changed to Heim Avenue in the company's 1960 map), Meats Avenue, and Taft Avenue. On this map, the section of Lincoln Avenue between Orange-Olive Road and Tustin Street is still named Santiago Boulevard, and to the west of the railroad tracks, what would be named Lincoln Avenue is still known as Anaheim-Olive Boulevard. The name Lincoln Avenue would not appear until circa 1960.47
   
1955 April 7: Lawrence Kokx packing house is damaged by fire. (Source: Tom Pulley)

The Santa Fe spur line to the east of the second Olive mill is removed.18
   
1956 The Orange County Telephone Directory lists Olive [Motel] Apartments at 8620 Santa Ana Canyon Road in Olive.55 The last listing found for this business entity at this site would be in the 1963 directory.
   
1957 The "Old Santa Ana" field stone monument with bronze plaque is placed on Orange-Olive Road, near the northwestern corner of Santiago.9 This monument is designated as Historical Landmark No. 204 by the California State Park Commission.

Go to Main menu