Olive Through the Ages

Tour of Olive: Section C

Click/tap the map below to view it larger. Click/tap the link (A-K) to go to that section: Main, A, B, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K
_____________________________________________________________________________

Section C Map

Click/tap a Site Number ("1" - "34") below for information about that site. Click/tap any image on this page to view a larger image in a separate window/tab.

Site Number: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34
     

1Old Santa Ana marker: In 1957, California State Historical Marker No. 204 [pictured right] was erected by the California at the northwestern corner of North Orange-Olive Road at East Lincoln Avenue. The marker designates this site as being the heart of "Old Santa Ana" which later became known as Olive.

  Old Santa Ana marker, 2009
     

2Standard Oil Company service station: In 1926, this service station [pictured right] stood at the northeastern corner of Railroad Street (2 Canyon Way in the 1930s) and Anaheim-Olive Boulevard (Lincoln).

A photo from circa 1918 shows this same structure, though the name of the service station is not unidentified. This structure does not appear in the 1938 USGS aerial photo.

  Service Station, circa 1926
     

3Olive Station Santa Fe railway depot: The wooden Santa Fe depot [pictured top right in 1912] built in 1887, was relocated from the nearby community of St. James on the western side of Railroad Street (Orange-Olive Road) in 1890. Santa Fe rebuilt the depot of stucco in 1929 [pictured bottom right in the 1950s], at the address listed as 102 Railroad Street (also known as Canyon Way at that time).

Olive Station U.S. Post Office: The Santa Fe agency closed in 1960, and following the loss of the Olive community's post office to fire in 1961, the depot was used as a temporary post office. On October 5, 1964, the depot structure was razed due to the realignment of Orange-Olive Road, and the Olive Station post office relocated to its present site in the Orange-Olive Center strip mall at 2683 N. Orange-Olive Road.

 

Santa Fe depot, circa 1912

Santa Fe depot, circa 1950s

     
4OHCA warehouse/fertilizer shed: Circa 1900, Olive Heights Citrus Association packing house built a warehouse beside the railroad tracks which was later used as a fertilizer shed. [Pictured right: the storage / fertilizer shed in 1969.] This shed was relocated and is situated today on residential property, behind a block wall on the opposite side of the railroad tracks. [See 2009 image.]   warehouse, shed, 1969
     
5Olive Heights Nursery: In 1907 this business was listed in the Orange Directory at 4 mi N., Olive. The 1926 Sanborn Map shows a nursery being located north of Clement Lumber [detail from this map pictured right].   Lattice Nursery, 1920s
     

6Clement Lumber Company: In 1922 this business [pictured top right] was located at 203 Railroad Street (known as Canyon Way in the late 1920s and Orange-Olive Road today). The business was last at this location circa 1940. [See 1926 Sanborn Map detail.]

Olive Motel (and Apartments): The motel apartment building was first listed in the directory in 1940, and in 1947 [pictured bottom right] was listed at 8582 Santa Ana Canyon. By 1961, the address for this location had changed to 8620 Santa Ana Canyon Road.

The lot on which the motel apartments once stood was vacant in the early 2000s through 2010 [see image from 2010]. Today Buena Vista apartments stand at this corner. [See 2011 image showing apartments still under construction.]

 

Olive, circa 1926

Olive Motel, 1947

     

7Olive Hillside Groves, Incorporated: This packing house was built in 1914 [pictured 1915 top right] and burned down on December 16, 1927, along with neighboring Olive Heights Citrus Association. In 1928 the packing house was rebuilt of brick on the same site [pictured 1929 bottom right], at 109 Railroad Street (listed as 8642 Santa Ana Canyon Road in 1947). Operations at this Mutual Orange Distributors house ceased in 1960.

Merlex Stucco: In 1963, Merlex Stucco began operating in this building—listed at 8642 N. Orange-Olive Road in 1965—and remained in business here at 2911 N. Orange-Olive Road until it was acquired by Parex USA in 2016. [See 1969 image and 2009 image.]

 

Olive Hillside Groves, 1915

Olive Hillside Groves, 1929

     

8Olive Heights Citrus Association: Incorporated as a Sunkist packing house in 1914, its facility was built on the eastern side of Railroad Street at 2 north Hope (Orange-Olive Road) in 1915 [pictured right circa 1922]. A fire on December 16, 1927 burned down this packing house and the neighboring Olive Hillside Groves packing house.

In 1928, Olive Heights Citrus Association rebuilt its packing house of concrete on the western side of the railroad tracks at 104 Railroad Street. [See 1926 Sanborn Map.]

  OHCA, circa 1926
     

9Lawrence Kokx packing house: In 1945 Lawrence Kokx built a vegetable and fruit packing house at 8672 Santa Ana Canyon Road, on the south side of Olive Hillside Groves [pictured right in the 1950s]. This packing house closed in 1958.

In 2001, Vero, a division of Merlex Stucco, began operating out of the former Lawrence Kokx packing house and continued doing business at that location until the company's acquisition by Parex USA in 2016. [See 2009 image.]

As of the summer of 2016, the large "Central Valley Builders Supply" banner appears across the top of this building.

  Lawrence Kokx packing house, 1950s
     

10 Gas Station: Stood on the southeastern corner at Main and 13 Canyon Way (Orange-Olive Road) from at least 1926 to 1969. Whether the gas station was in operation during all of the years has not yet been determined. [See 1926 Sanborn Map and detail from that map. Pictured right: the gas station in 1969.]

Dodge Glenn Union Service Station: This business was in operation at 8692 Santa Ana Canyon Road in 1961.

Olive Garage: Moved to this site from 606 E. Lincoln Avenue in 1984. Still located here today at 2845 N. Orange-Olive Road. [See 2010 image.]

  Gas Station, 1969
     

11 Watson Business Site: From at least 1899 until early 1923, a wooden store [pictured top right in 1899] stood on the northeastern corner of Hope (Lincoln) and Orange-Olive Road. [See 1912 image and 1915 image—in the latter image the store is located in the background behind the bank.]

Edwards, Bortz, and Fletcher Business Block: In June 1923 [see 1926 image], a brick building [pictured bottom right in 1951] was completed at this corner, replacing the wooden store. This building contained the Olive Bakery (at 7 Hope in 1926), Olive Cafe (at 3 Canyon Way in 1926), Olive General Store (at 5 Canyon Way in 1928), Olive Post Office (at 7 Canyon Way in 1929), and Olive Pharmacy and drugstore (at 1 Canyon Way in 1926). In 1937, this building housed the Olive Food Market (listed at 8702 Santa Ana Canyon Road in 1950), Olive Cafe, U.S. Post Office, and Olive Pharmacy (listed at 8722 Santa Ana Canyon Road in 1950). The building burned down in 1961 and would not be rebuilt.

  Olive in 1899

brick building in 1951
     

12Antune's Saloon: In 1887, Miguel Antunez began operating this saloon at the southeast corner of Hope (Lincoln) and Railroad Street (Orange-Olive). The saloon closed in 1891. [Top right: see buildings at far right in this detail from a 1912 photo.]

Olive Billiard Parlor, Cigar Shop: The billiard parlor and cigar shop stood at the southeast corner of Railroad Street at 2 Hope Street in 1922. The Olive Pool Hall remained on the corner until circa 1958, at the address listed as 16432 Santiago (Lincoln).

Olive Barber Shop: Stood next door to the pool parlor at 4 Hope Street in 1922 until circa 1950, when the address was listed as 16432 Santiago.

[Bottom right: see buildings on the south side of Hope (Lincoln) in this detail from the 1926 Sanborn Map.]

  Downtown Olive, 1912

Downtown Olive, 1912
     

13Restaurant: Stood next door to the Olive Barber Shop at 6 Hope in 1929. This restaurant was included on Margaret Hughes' map in 1946. [See 1926 Sanborn Map detail, and 1940s map by Margaret Hughes, top right.]

Olive Blacksmith Shop: Stood on southside Hope 3 east circa 1919; listed as 8 Hope in 1929, next door to the restaurant. [See 1926 Sanborn Map detail, and 1940s map by Margaret Hughes.]

Olive Forgeing and Welding: This shop stood on the corner of Santiago (Lincoln) at Orange-Olive Road in 1958 and 1959, most likely occupying the same building as the former Olive Blacksmith Shop. [See 1959 USGS aerial map detail.]

Signal Oil Company Service Station: This service station stood on the realigned southeastern corner of Lincoln at 2101 N. Orange-Olive Road circa 1964 to 1966. [See 1964 USGS detail photo.]

Enco Products Service Station: This service station stood here at 2101 N. Orange-Olive Road circa 1967 to 1970. [See February 1967 image at middle right, and another 1967 image.]

Wooden, two-story office building: This structure was built about 1981 and still stands today on the southeastern corner of Orange-Olive at 710-722 E. Lincoln Avenue. [See 2005 image, and 2009 image bottom right.]

Pool room: A second pool room existed at the same time as the Olive Billiard Parlor in 1929, this one being located to the east of the blacksmith shop at 12 Hope Street. This pool room was included on Margaret Hughes' map in 1946. [See 1926 Sanborn Map detail and 1940s map by Margaret Hughes.]

  Margaret Hughes map from 1940s

Enco, 1967

Office building, 2009
     

14Olive Heights Center: This strip mall [pictured top right in 2012] was built circa 1965 and still occupies the south side of Lincoln Avenue mid-way between Orange-Olive Road and Magnolia Avenue. When first constructed, tenants included Olive Cleaners at 826 E. Lincoln (located today at 820 E. Lincoln), and Olive Medical at 830 E. Lincoln. Olive Heights Pharmacy was listed at 820 E. Lincoln Avenue in the 1968 directory, Olive-Heights Market was listed at 824 E. Lincoln in 1971 (the same address as Hi-Ho Market and Liquor today), and The Olive Pit was listed at 834 E. Lincoln in 1973—and still remains at this address today [pictured bottom right].

  Olive Heights Center, 2012

Olive Pit at Olive Heights Center, 2009
     

15Post Office: In 1919, the U.S. Post Office was located on the south side of Hope Street at 4 east Olive Boulevard [mid-way between Railroad Street and Olive Avenue in the 1926 Sanborn Map pictured right]. The post office relocated in the 1920s to the brick building at the northeastern corner of Railroad Street (later called Canyon Way, and Orange-Olive Road today) and Hope Street (later called Santiago, and Lincoln Avenue today).

  Downtown Olive, 1912
     

16House built in 1905: This former residence with a hip roof, located on Hope Street (Lincoln Avenue) at Olive Avenue [pictured right in 2009], became a commercial office for Bronco Roofing Company circa 1982. [See 1926 Sanborn Map detail, 1959 USGS aerial photo detail, and 1964 USGS detail photo.] The structure was removed some time between July 2014 and February 2015.

  residecne from 1910
     

17Anselmo Ames house: This former residence on Olive Avenue [pictured right in 2012] in which the Yorba family descendant lived for many years, was modified to function as a commercial office during the latter portion of the last century. [See 1926 Sanborn Map detail, 1959 USGS aerial photo detail, and 1964 USGS detail photo.]

  former residences from early 1900s
     

18Growers Fruit Company: This packing house was built at the southeastern corner of Olive Avenue and Main Street in 1911. In 1921 Thomas H. Peppers and his partner A.J. Miller bought out this packing house and renamed their firm Peppers Fruit Company. In 1923 the name of the firm changed to Olive Fruit Company [see image at bottom right]. In 1932 a fire burned down this building at 101 Main, which would never be rebuilt.

  Growers Fruit Company, 1912

Olive Fruit Company, circa 1923
     

19Storage unit (former Presbyterian Church building): Not long after St. Paul's Lutheran Church organization purchased the Presbyterian Church for their first sanctuary in 1907, they began constructing a new sanctuary that would be completed in 1913; the modified structure used by North Orange Christian Church today. The original Presbyterian Church sanctuary built in 1898 was relocated to the northwestern corner of St. Paul's property [see 1959 aerial photo at right] some time between 1913 and circa 1922. This structure, which was labeled a storage unit in the 1926 Sanborn Map, does not appear in the 1964 USGS aerial photo.

  old Presbyterian Church building in 1959
     

20Lawrence Kokx cabbage shed: This structure was built in the 1950s and was used by Lawrence Kokx packing house as a cabbage shed [see 1950s image at top right] until the packing house closed in 1958. By 1967 Action Recycling Center [see 2011 image at bottom right] was established and began operating out of the modified cabbage shed. This recycling center still operates in this structure as of 2016.

 

 

Lawrence Kokx cabbage shed in the lated 1950s

Action Recycling Center in 2011

     

21Yorba family's second adobe: Built on the hill at Olive after the flood of 1825, approximately in the location where the school houses would later be built. The home ceased to exist prior to the 1880s. [See Grijalva Map.]

Olive Grammar School: Built here on the hill as a white, two-story, wooden structure in 1895 [see 1899 image at right], at the address listed as 209 Olive Avenue circa 1928, and 3038 N. Magnolia Avenue today.

The school was first rebuilt in 1919 in the Mission style of architecture [see 1959 image], and renamed Olive Elementary School in 1953.

The school was rebuilt in 1962 to comply with building standards. Due to declining enrollment, the school closed June 1984, and re-opened September 7, 1999 when enrollment picked up. [See 2009 image.]

  Olive Grammar School, 1899
     

22Olive Civic Center: Built in the Spanish-Colonial style to the rear of the school in 1939. Known as the Olive Community Center and Assembly Hall, and the Olive Grammar School's Gymnasium and Auditorium. Located at 3030 N. Magnolia Avenue, this structure is still in use today. [See 1940s image at right, and 2009 image.]

  Olive Civic Center, 1940s
     

23St. Paul's Lutheran Parochial School: The school building, completed in 1922, showed an address listed as 108 Magnolia Avenue in 1929 and as 8651 Magnolia Avenue in 1958, the year in which the school relocated to its new site on Heim Avenue in Orange. In 1961, the address of the school was listed as 16682 Heim, which became 16702 E. Heim by 1965. In autumn 1985, the school relocated again, this time to the former Heim Elementary School grounds at 901 E. Heim where it remains today. The wooden structure that once housed the original parochial school has been renovated and is part of the North Orange Christian Church facilities.

[Pictured top right: an image of the school in 1933. Pictured bottom right: an image of the modified structure in 2006.]

  St. Paul's Parochial School, 1933

former St. Paul's Parochial School in 2006
     
24Presbyterian Church: This first church in Olive was built in 1898 on the north side of Hope Street [pictured right in 1899] near North Orange Christian Church of present times. In 1907, the building was sold to the newly-formed St. Paul's Lutheran Church organization.   Olive in 1899
     

25St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church: Founded April 7, 1907, the wooden sanctuary was completed on the east side of Main Street in 1913 [see image at top right from circa 1920]. The address was listed as 108 Magnolia Avenue in 1929 and as 16601 Main in 1958.

Tzaddi Wedding Chapel and Metaphysical Center: In 1967, this organization occupied the former St. Paul's Lutheran Church sanctuary and remained here a few years. [See 1967 image.]

Olive Heights Wedding Chapel and Reception Hall (Olive Heights Catering): In 1971, this organization occupied the sanctuary, listed at 1000 E. Lincoln.

North Orange Christian Church: In 1973, the sanctuary was purchased by this organization, at the address 1001 E. Lincoln. The sanctuary [pictured bottom right in 2006] has been renovated in recent years. [See 1982 image and 2009 image.]

  St. Paul's Lutheran Church, circa 1920

former St. Paul's Lutheran Church in 2006
     

26Lincoln Village: Appeared circa the mid-1980s on the south side of Lincoln Avenue across from present day North Orange Christian Church [pictured right in 2009].

  Lincoln Village, 2009
     

27Olive Heights Hotel: Built on 302 Main Street about 1887 [pictured top right, circa 1888] by Louis Schorn for his employees at the Olive Milling Company, the hotel would remain in operation until at least 1934. The structure appears at this location in 1955 and 1959 aerial maps, but does not show up in a 1970 aerial map.

Office Building: In 1981, a two-story stucco office building was constructed in the approximate area of the hotel. This structure still stands today at 1107 E. Lincoln Avenue. [Pictured bottom right in 2009.]

  Olive Heights Hotel, circa 1888

Olive Heights Hotel site, 2009
     

28Bush Store: This general store was established around 1888 but does not appear in the Sanborn Map of 1926. [Pictured right circa 1891.]

  Bush Store, circa 1891
     

29Dance Hall: Located at 315 Main in 1929. [See 1926 Sanborn Map detail and its site in 2013, pictured at right.]

  Site of Dance Hall in 1929
     

30Olive Heights Sanitarium, Inc.: Located at 108 Palm in 1927. [See 1926 Sanborn Map detail and its site in 2009, pictured at right.]

  Site of Olive Heights Sanitarium in 1927
     

31Schorn House: Victorian style home built circa 1889 by Louis Schorn, one of the owners of the Olive Flour Mill. The house still stands today on the southeastern corner of 8571 Ocean View Avenue at Bixby. [Pictured at right in 2014.]

  Schorn home, 2014
     

32Gelker Adobe: In 1935, citrus rancher Ben Gelker built a single-story home of adobe bricks from Mission Clay Products Co. brick yard [see image at right]. The home at 16741 Buena Vista is still at this site [see image from 2009.]

  Ben Gelker adobe, 1935
     

33Olive Milling Company: On April 8, 1890 the Olive Flour Mill was rebuilt southwest of the irrigation pond, with easy access to the railroad [see image top right]. The operations were sold to Central Milling Company on October 1, 1919, and the mill was dismantled in 1932.

Padre Tile Company: The organization began operating at this site in 1925 and remained here until circa 1929 [see image bottom right, and detail from the 1926 Sanborn Map]. The buildings that housed operations appear on a 1959 aerial photo, but do not show up in a 1970 aerial photo.

Citrus Products, Inc.: This factory canned their "Plus" brand citrus juices in the old mill and tile company buildings from 1936 to 1939. [See label image.]

Lakeside Professional Building: This office building opened at this site in 1972 and still stands today on the northeastern corner of Ocean View at 1301 E. Lincoln Avenue. [See 2009 image.]

  Olive Mill, 1890

Olive Mill, 1890
     

34Lincoln Avenue Baptist Church of Orange: In 1962, the Olive Mission congregation, which was formed by members from the First Southern Baptist Church of Anaheim, was renting a home on Lincoln Avenue in Olive to hold their services. In May 1966 they selected the site at 16751 E. Lincoln Avenue in Olive to build a new sanctuary. When Lincoln Avenue Baptist Church was completed in 1967 [pictured at right], the address of this recently annexed property became 1310 E. Lincoln Avenue in the City of Orange. [See 2009 image of the church.]

In May 2015, Lincoln Avenue Baptist Church was dissolved following the completion of its merger with The Main Place Christian Fellowship. The new organization continues to occupy the sanctuary at this site.

  Lincoln Avenue Baptist Church, 1967
     

 

Go to Main Menu